The Mount Sinai Hospital Department of Nursing

Board of Trustees 35th Annual

Excellence in Nursing Practice Awards

The Mount Sinai Department of Nursing Celebrated
National Nurses Week 
April 29 - May 5th

Events included:

Safety & Wellness Event for Nurses

Nurses Week Breakfast

Judith Shamian, RN, PhD, D.Sc, (Hon), LLD (Hon), FAAN

Annual Poster Session  Highlighting Nursing Practice

Nursing Research: 7 West READI study

Midnight Madness Rounds Honoring Evening & Night Staff

Board of Trustees 35th Annual Excellence in Nursing Practice Awards

Celebrating Nurses Week 2016

Jamie Ruhmshottel, BSN, RN-BC Clinical Coordinator, GP9West

Overall Departmental Award Winner

Thank you, Mount Sinai Nurses

For the excellent care you provide to our patients and families, and for your important role in helping to advance nursing research at Mount Sinai

Roy Wedeles Jr.

Director of Finance
The Mount Sinai Hospital

Inaugural Honorary Nursing Award


The Association of the Attending Staff Award for

Excellence in Nursing Leadership

Rosario Marasigan, BSN, RN, CCRN

Clinical Nurse Manager

Cardiac Catheterization Lab

Rita Jakubowski, MSN, RN, OCN,


Clinical Program Manager, Bone Marrow Transplant

The Association of the Attending Staff has been honoring Mount Sinai nurse leaders with this award since 1984.
The winners reflect a nurse par excellence. Winners are leaders and role models who enhance the quality of the practice environment.

"Criteria include compassion, motivation, organizational and problem solving skills, clinical expertise, strong interdisciplinary relationships, and an overall ability to lead exemplary patient care and provide leadership."

The Physician of the Year Awards


Roopa Kohli-Seth, MD

Department of Surgical Critical Care

Attending Award

Elina Zakin, MD

Department of Neurology

House Officer Award

Zevy Hamburger, MD

Department of Anesthesiology

Fellow Award

Kristjan T. Ragnarsson, MD

Department of Rehabilitation Medicine

Special Recognition Award


The Physician of the Year Awards were established in 1988 to recognize physicians who provide excellent patient care and foster strong
collaborative relationships with nurses. The winners are nominated by their nurse colleagues, and the following
awards are presented annually: Attending, Special Recognition, Fellow and House Officer

These awards acknowledge physicians who have taken a leadership role in developing strong interdisciplinary relationships
 between Mount Sinai nurses and physicians.

"All the Physician of the Year Award Winners are partners in care and have earned the respect and appreciation of the Mount Sinai community of nurses."